If you have been cited for a non-mandatory violation and there was not an accident involved, and you would like to attend traffic school to keep the violation off your driving record, you must appear at the SSL Justice Court (clerk's window) to determine if you qualify.
Upon completing traffic school, you must send the certificate of completion to the Justice Court (220 E Morris Ave, South Salt Lake, UT 84115) for filing.
To qualify for traffic school you must:
- Not have any other citations on your record over the last year
- Not have a CDL
If you qualify for traffic school, you will be required to pay:
- The regular fine amount
- A $25 plea in abeyance fee
- A $50 traffic school fee
Update: due to COVID-19, all traffic school classes will be held online through the Utah Safety Council.
If you live in Salt Lake County you will attend traffic school in-person at the South Salt Lake Justice Court (220 East Morris Ave, South Salt Lake, UT 84115). If you live outside of the county or have a language barrier, you may be given permission to take an online class instead.
Traffic school takes place the third Saturday of every month. You will have 60 days to complete traffic school following the acceptance of your Plea of Abeyance.
When signing up for traffic school you must provide:
A valid Utah driver's license
A certified copy of your driving record from the state where your license was issued WITH your picture identification.
Upon completing traffic school, you must send the certificate of completion to the Justice Court at firstname.lastname@example.org or by mailing it to 220 E Morris Ave, South Salt Lake, UT 84115 for filing.